Curtis is governed by a Board of Trustees. Historically, the Board has been composed of parents, past parents, alumni, and friends of the school.
The board establishes policy and works closely with the Head of School and administration to ensure that these policies are implemented. New trustees are elected by the board and generally serve two or three 3-year terms. Trustees contribute a significant amount of time to ensure the strategic and financial health of the school. Collectively, Curtis trustees bring expertise and experience from a wide variety of fields and backgrounds to bear on the work of the board.


Standing committees of the board include the Executive Committee, Audit Committee, Finance Committee, Advancement Annual Fund Committee, Planning Committee, Committee on Trustees, and Buildings & Grounds Committee. The board also has special task forces that are created from time to time to make recommendations to the full board and, unless otherwise specifically authorized, final policy approval rests with the full board. Administrators, faculty members, and parents may be invited to serve on the committees at the pleasure of the board chair and the head of school. The head of school, chief operating and financial officer, president of the Parents Association, president of the Alumni Council, and other administrators regularly attend board meetings as non-members. Trustees serve on a volunteer basis without remuneration of any kind.

List of 18 items.

  • Rob Friedman, Chair

    Rob Friedman joined the Curtis Board of Trustees in 2015 and assumed the role of Board Chair at the end of the 2019-2020 school year.
    Read More
  • Vanessa Keith Garcia, First Vice Chair

    Vanessa Keith Garcia brings professional experience and a background in elementary education to the Board of Trustees.
    Read More
  • Tracy Minker '88, Second Vice Chair

    Tracy Minker brings extensive experience in corporate strategy, management and digital platforms to the board.
    Read More
  • Dilip Bhavnani, Secretary

    Born in Manchester, England, Dilip Bhavnani is the chief operating officer of Sunscope, one of the largest promotional products companies, where he started working while earning a bachelor of arts degree in economics from UCLA. 
    Read More
  • Steve Chang, Treasurer

    Steve Chang joined the board in 2018 after serving on the board’s investment committee as a parent member since 2015. He brings extensive experience and deep expertise in investment to the board.
    Read More
  • Erikson Albrecht

    We are pleased to announce that Erikson Albrecht has joined the Board of Trustees as a new member this year.
    Read More
  • Ryan Boccuzzi

    Ryan Boccuzzi is an educator with more than 15 years’ experience at independent schools. He is currently the Upper School director at Brentwood School, a position he has held since 2015.
    Read More
  • Kavitha Bhatia, MD, MMM, FAAP

    Dr. Kavitha Bhatia joined the Curtis Board of Trustees in 2019 and brings expertise in pediatrics, child development, corporate strategy, operations and governance
    Read More
  • Dana Coleman

    Dana Coleman is a lifelong educator whose passion for teaching began when she was a teacher for special needs high school students. A native Angeleno, she has a particular interest in supporting the students of Los Angeles and has done so as a teacher, special education coordinator, and principal in public schools.
    Read More
  • Elizabeth English

    Elizabeth English is the Head of School at The Archer School for Girls in Los Angeles.
    Read More
  • Jim Miller '90

    Jim Miller joined the board in 2016. A member of the Curtis 6th Grade Class of 1990, Jim has many fond memories of his years on the Mulholland campus.
    Read More
  • Kevin Newman '83

    Dr. Kevin Newman is Curtis alumnus and an educator with more than 20 years’ experience in independent schools.
    Read More
  • Allan Schweitzer '79

    Allan Schweitzer served as Board Chair from 2017 to the end of the 2019-2020 school year.
    Read More
  • Craig Varnen

    Curtis parent Craig Varnen joined the Board last year after already serving the school well as a member of the Board’s Finance Committee.
    Read More
  • Leslie Vermut

    Leslie Vermut brings to the Board of Trustees extensive experience in financial investment in the private sector as well as working with non-profits.
    Read More
  • Jon Wimbish

    Jon Wimbish is the Head of the Middle School at Harvard-Westlake and has more than 20 years’ experience as an educator in independent schools.
    Read More
  • Thea Wolf

    Thea Andrews Wolf is a veteran television news journalist who has worked as a producer, national correspondent, and anchor for networks in the United States and Canada, including ESPN, ABC, CBS and CTV.   
    Read More
  • Rachel Yang

    Dr. Rachel Yang joined the board in 2017. An author and educator, Dr. Yang has a Ph.D. in Technology Management, a Master of Science degree in Decision Analysis, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics.
    Read More

Curtis School

15871 Mulholland Drive  ·  Los Angeles CA 90049